Game & Sony Should Know Better Than to Exploit Their Customers

20130820-223306.jpg

I have always been an ardent Playstation supporter. The amount of money Sony has had off me over the last ten years, Playstation one, two, 3, PSP for my kids, hundreds of games, well, let’s just say that the amount I’ve probably spent is so much as to even try suggest a figure. Truth is, I have spent so much that I’ve completely lost count (if truth be told). However, today I thought I would blog on something that has recently come to my attention. Something that has really hit a nerve.

It started a good year ago when my original PS3 remote stopped working. I thought fair enough, seeing as I had the bugger for quite a while and the poor thing took a good bashing over the years, it was probably best that I went out and bought myself a new pad. When I went to Game, they had a much wider selection of pads and so I decided to go all out and get myself a new blue one. £44.99! (Second hand). Yes. I took it home, had it for about two weeks and my son dropped it on the floor, I picked it up and that was the end of it. Completely dead.

I didn’t really have the money to go out and pay forty-five quid for another pad and so I thought that I’d get myself a cheap wired control pad. Paid around £15 for it and it worked fine, until I had to update my PS3 that is. At the time I didn’t link the pad not working to the update. I thought my son had been at it again and damaged my pad. I waited a few months this time and was inactive with my gaming until yesterday, when I decided to finally treat myself to another pad. This time I opted for a white wireless Gameware pad from Game. For £9.99 I thought I couldn’t go wrong (or so I thought).

I started playing Black Ops 2 and got myself the new Resurrection Map pack, ran my first update and everything was fine. Then around three hours ago, from nowhere, the pad shut down. I spent the following hour resetting the pad, trying different things like holding select and L to try and get it to sync but still nothing. That’s when I googled it up and found out that Sony has developed update 3.5 and in this update it overwrites third-party firmware making non-Sony pads inoperative.

Game do not tell you this, and as for Sony, they would rather suck more money out of you by developing updates that prevent you from buying cheaper pads. I am absolutely fuming with both Game and Sony. When you think that Sony have had over £75 million PS3 sales since 2006 and the amount of money they have made and continue to make, to then prevent their customers from the choice of buying a cheaper control pad, well it’s just greed!

I was considering buying a PS4 and I know they will sell with or without me but I genuinely think they are taking the piss with the amount they charge for their pads. They prevent lower income families from having the choice to decide. As for Game, they should take all these pads down from their shelves and give all of their customers full refunds!

Posted on August 20, 2013, in Speaking Out and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

