35 Reasons to Sign the Millwall Petition

I thought I’d try and come up with some good reasons why you should sign and support this petition but instead I thought I’d let other petition signers give you some good reasons why you should sign. Enjoy!

Millwall has been part of my life since I was born. I’ve been to all the home games and also some of the away ones. I am a true supporter and I don’t like seeing my team getting victimised for something that stupid drunk people done. PATHETIC. – Kasey Sims, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

I’ve had enough of my football club (Millwall FC) being brought up in the media for the wrong reasons due to the idiotic and embarressing problems caused by a small of minority of “fans”. – Michael Cooke CRAWLEY, UNITED KINGDOM

I’m sick to death of lazy journalists sticking the knife in at every opportunity. There were twice as many arrests in Trafalgar Square with 2,000 protesting but the gutter press aren’t calling them scum – wonder why? I had a great time on Saturday with my family and mates and hope the police catch whoever caused the trouble. Lets give the lazy Sun journalists no more cheap headlines. I love my club and always will. – Paul Hooton, SUNBURY, UNITED KINGDOM

12 arrests 20 people fighting and again we are subjected to outrageous biased reporting. 0.001% of supporters involved 100% blamed. If we were an ethnic group there would be public outcry at our treatment. But we are Millwall so this sort of generalisation is ok. Riots on the streets of North East with 26 arrests and hardly a thing mentioned. Strange how they both play in the multi billion pound premier league that I do believe have a vested interest in most of the papers abusing us and not Newcastle United – Gary Windebank, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

So that I am not always called a scum because of the football team I support – David Reeves, GILLINGHAM, UNITED KINGDOM

I’m fed up with sensational jounalism by certain news papers,i totally object to being referred to as scum.for the record im 56yrs old been married to a millwall supporter of 50years standing and have grown to love the club,they work so hard for the local community and this is a family club and there hard work should be recognised,all clubs no matter what division have problems of one sort of another but are not slaughtered all the time by the media ive no problem with FAIR investigative journalism – Denise Lawler, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

Millwall fan all my life and fed up of people jumping to conclusions about Millwall fans. We are passionate supporters not scum or animals. Some people just need educating on how to express or control that passion while mixing with alcohol. True fans can control this and wish to see the club become a name to remember for the right reasons. –Mic White, CHATHAM, UNITED KINGDOM

Millwall fan sick of the crap being written – Russell Keeley, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

It’s my club and we are not all trouble makers yet were all tarred with the same brushSimon Oakley PORTSMOUTH, UNITED KINGDOM

Because I have been a Millwall supporter all my life and so have my brothers and also my sons. – Jane White, CHATHAM, UNITED KINGDOM

The media continuously target us just to make a huge story for their back pages. Get some real stories and stop targeting Millwall – James Tanner, BROMLEY, UNITED KINGDOM

It is important to me because Millwall are always highlighted for any slight misdemeanour, whereas other clubs that have far more issues are never reported om.(the latest incident at Newcastle being a prime example) – David Phillips, WICKFORD, UNITED KINGDOM

I support Millwall. – Jay Taylor, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

Always dragging our name through the mud. – GEOFF MARSHALL, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

I am a supporter – Daniel Warren, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

Being a Millwall fan I am constantly angered by the media plastering the football teams fans as scum and violent. They never seem to mention it is just the minority of people who claim to be football fans but are indeed nothing more than people wanting a fight. – Rhys O’Grady, LUTON, UNITED KINGDOM

I went to the game at Wembley on Saturday and had a brilliant time. But Sunday was spoilt by all the negative comments in the papers and on Facebook. The majority of the comments were from people who weren’t even there. This sensationalism in the media needs to stop as they are winding the real supporters up with their lies and exaggerations. – Barbara Lawrence, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

I’m from Scotland and watched it live …has been blown out of all proportion – Thoms Lyon, GLASGOW, UNITED KINGDOM

Disgusted at the victimization of millwall football club in the press both today and yesterday when there was far worse scenes else where this weekend which has gone pretty much unreported yet again all millwall fans are tarnished with the same brush as a small minority who have been given the limelight in sports pages – Emlyn Wignell, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

Millwall have had their trouble in the past, but they are now the hardest working club to combat this and other issues. But all the press do is highlight us for the worst at the first opportunity. Over the weekend there was trouble all over the country, from Millwall, Man City, Chelsea, Wigan, Newcastle, an injury due to a bottle thrown at Arsenal, a stabbing at QPR v Everton, WATFORD. All having arrests for trouble and drugs. But who gets the headlines? Newcastle fans ran riot in the streets damaging shops and cars and with a higher arrest count. Victimized? Ya think? – Stuart Bullen, REDONDO BEACH, CA

Because I’m sick and tired of millwall being labelled as thugs – Michael Odwyer, CHICHESTER, UNITED KINGDOM

Because I am sick and tired of my family be tarnished as scum! We are Millwall and Proud – Danielle Horney, WIMBLEDON, UNITED KINGDOM

My Dad has been a Millwall supporter his whole life and has had to defend the actions of the minority all the time based on media-hype. I have been to many Millwall games with my Dad and friends and it is and always will remain a family club. – Emily O’Neill, ENFIELD, UNITED KINGDOM

Because its true! My grandad, dad, me and my son have been and will be life long Millwall supporters and never have any of us caused any trouble! – Andy Walker, ASHFORD, UNITED KINGDOM

I am a season ticket holder love going Millwall and supporting the Club & Players, but fed up being tarnish as scum, animal and so on. 20-30 people do wrong and we all suffer. The media wont give Millwall a break will theyEmma Gill, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

Fed up with the way the press treat the club,no more buying the sun 4 meLilly Hall, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

A Millwall fan since the seventies my sons and daughters and now grandchildren have enjoyed many happy family millwall days do not let the minority or the media spoil our club – IRIS HURT, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

Whilst the behaviour of a few at Wembley was unforgivable. The sensationalist reporting was inaccurate and misleading. This is what we have come to expect. – Robert Bedford, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

Fed up with the press and their very bias opinion against Millwall Football Club. Worst trouble at Newcastle vs Sunderland but small section in paper compared to Millwalls four page spread. – Liz Kempster, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

I want the people that drags my fantastic clubs name down banged up with life time bans, most of all how come it took the old bill and wembley security so long to get involved to stop the fighting, it took 15:35 minutes for the old bill to even come out then they backed off what good they was!!!!! We’re not scum we just have a small amount of idiots that come along looking for trouble like most clubs. – Luke Norfolk, ROCHESTER, UNITED KINGDOM

Fed up with the way the media treat the club & its supporters. – Paul Rodgers, BASINGSTOKE, UNITED KINGDOM

Because I am sick of newspapers generalising every single Millwall fan with the troublemakers. – Jess Gilmaney, LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

I’m a lifelong Millwall fan, with family connections with the club that go back to 1900. The club have worked hard along with many TRUE fans to change our image. I’m fed up with a certain section of the media reporting on the club in an uneven handed manner, do they ever report on charity work by the club and fans? NO! Every club has issues but we at Millwall are targeted because of the past, and let us not forget when we talk of football hooliganism in the 70’s etc Man Utd fans were among the worst, yet they were allowed to work to put things right without constant reminders of those days. – Peter Manock, TILBURY, UNITED KINGDOM

Unfair reporting of Millwall fc by the british media – David Roberts, BROMLEY, UNITED KINGDOM

Lastly….. because we are Millwall, super Millwall, we are Millwall, from the Den Sean Ash, WELLING UNITED KINGDOM

MILLWALLNEEDSYOU 


Posted on April 18, 2013, in Speaking Out. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Cllr Judy Best

    My family have been going to Millwall for years. And were at Wembley with Children. It is a fantastic Football Club that is very family orientated. It is a shame more so that so called fans were fighting each other if read right in the News report!

Leave a Reply

